The Krzysztof Kieslowski Beyond Borders Award in the Documentary/Short film category goes to

“Solidarity According to Women”
directed by Marta Dzido and produced by Piotr Sliwowski.

This extraordinary documentary addresses the long-neglected theme of Polish women’s contributions to the building of democracy in Poland. Marta Dzido’s picture opens up an opportunity of seeing the achievement of Polish democracy in its full dimension.

Special Jury Award goes to the documentary

“Aktorka” (The Actress)
for preserving and celebrating the extraordinary talent of Elzbieta Czyzewska.

The Jury was happy to announce that the Elzbieta Czyzewska Award for best acting goes to Elzbieta Czyzewska herself, the actress who successfully managed to transcend cultural distances, and create a transatlantic bridge between Poland and the United States. Elzbieta’s magnetic personality contributed to the intense and exciting cultural life in New York City. She is dearly missed by all.

The Jury commended the directors of “The Actress”, Kinga Debska and Maria Konwicka for making Elzbieta Czyzewska the subject of their documentary. Elzbieta’s magnetic personality contributed to the intense and exciting cultural life of New York City.

An Honorary Mention goes to

“The Shadow Forest,”
directed by Andrzej Cichocki, for accomplished cinematography and sound direction.


Andrzej Dobrowolski, Journalist
Vladek Juszkiewicz, Director of the Polish Film Festival in Los Angeles
Izabela Kalinowska, Associate Professor in the Department of Cultural Analysis and Theory, Stony Brook University (Head of the Jury)
Janina Kijner, poet, writer, independent filmmaker
Kasia Kruk, filmmaker, producer, writer, based in New York
Elzbieta Matynia, Professor of Sociology and Liberal Studies at the New School for Social Research
Sheila Scaff, Director of the Master’s Program at the Galleton School at New York University
Tomasz Tomaszewski, Grahpic Designer